It's winter in Maine...I'm training for an Ironman...I am spending countless hours on the treadmill. I know many of you can relate, it has been a hard winter everywhere! I actually love running outside in the winter, but the enormous amount of snow and ice here has just made it completely unsafe. In this regard, I love my treadmill! I am thankful to be able to safely log mileage on it. It is great for my weekly Brick Workout to hop off my bike trainer and get right on it to run. I also appreciate not having to double and triple layer for the frigid cold temperatures.
(Here's a picture of my son Ben & our dog Walter in the 2+Feet of snow at our house!)
However, yesterday was one of those days that I loathed the 'mill. I had an 11 mile run on my training schedule and I just could not wrap my head around doing it inside. I had a narrow window of time to complete the run before picking up my kids, so this forced me to just hop on and do it! The first 7 miles were dreadful! I tried to Not look at the numbers tick away, but I could not stop..."oh look, 1 mile down, 10 to go!" "Hey, I'm at 3.7 miles, thats approximately 1/3 of the way through it!" "5.5 miles...HALF WAY DONE!!!" You get the point, not much fun, but what was the alternative? At one point, I thought I would just cut it short to 8 miles, but then I knew what that would do for my psyche each and every time I had to do a treadmill run after that.
(My Mio Global HR monitor, Me-so Happy to be done, & the 11 miles and my timer reading 11 minutes 18 seconds after it hit 0!!)
I finished the 11 miles. I was also reminded that my treadmill timer goest to Zero after 1 hour and 40 minutes, which made me laugh! Fortunately, the mileage continues to count on or it would not have been humorous!!
I would love to hear how You get through your Treadmill Runs??
I finished the 11 miles. I was also reminded that my treadmill timer goest to Zero after 1 hour and 40 minutes, which made me laugh! Fortunately, the mileage continues to count on or it would not have been humorous!!
I would love to hear how You get through your Treadmill Runs??




